“The Perks of Being a Wallflower”

I literally JUST finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky. I am honestly speechless. This book was amazing.

I will say I was a little hesitant when I first picked it up because of the format. The story is written completely through letters that the main character, Charlie, writes to someone who we never even are introduced to. All that is said about the receiver of the letters is that “she said you would understand.” He later says that “she” is a girl in one of his classes that Charlie overheard her talking about and he (the letter receiver) sounded understanding. We never learn who “she” is or who the receiver is, but that still somehow did not impact how well the story was written.

I told somebody I was reading this book and they said they did the usual “Oh, I heard that was a good book. What is it about?” And to be totally honest, I could not answer that question for a moment. All I could really say is that it’s about an introvert who is starting high school and is nervous and he receives advice to go out and try and live his life instead of being shy and sitting on the sidelines. So the entire story is basically him documenting his freshman year of high school through letters to this unknown person. Which may sound like a very unexciting plot, but it actually held my attention for a good majority of the time.

I think the best part of Charlie’s character is that there are some points where he will say things and I am like “what? Did he honestly just say that?” And sometimes I say that in an amused way with a smile on my face, and sometimes I say it with wide eyes and a gasp. He just says it like it is. Part of his character is that he hates lying, therefore he is extremely blunt. But even though he says some unexpected things, he makes a lot of amazing comments that I have never thought about.

There were parts where he would wonder things that were so compassionate or shy that I just wanted to dive into this book and hug him and be like “I will be your friend, Charlie!”

Part of the reason I love this book too is that it shows how other people’s minds operate and basically not to judge a book by its cover. This goes for a good majority of the characters, such as Charlie’s sister, or Patrick, even Brad. They are all going through important problems and we got to see it through Charlie’s honest and thoughtful point of view.

This book has some low points, and by low points I mean a little sad, but when there were high points, they were so high. By the time I finished this book I felt so “infinite” as Charlie put it. Whatever he went through he really did find a lot of positive sides.

I honestly love this book. I will say it was weird, but it was a good-weird. I highly suggest it. And maybe you won’t like it, and if you don’t I’m really sorry, but it is actually pretty uplifting by the end. Honestly, give it a shot. You may surprise yourself.

Leave a Reply

