The Twilight Saga Breaking Dawn: Part Two

Another fun fact about me, I am a fan of the Twilight Saga. Go ahead and judge if you’re not, but I thought the books were cute. Yes, I started reading them after I had seen the first movie, therefore I read them when they were popular because I am a trend follower, but I finished the series in about a week.

People have this ongoing battle about how Harry Potter is better and teaches lessons about friendships or standing up for or fighting what you believe in and how Twilight is about a girl who basically meets a guy and suddenly her life revolves around him. I will actually give you that, but they are two different genres from two completely different authors and their fan bases actually overlap quite a bit.

The saga isn’t all perfect though. I will admit to the movies not being that great. The scripts aren’t that well written, sometimes the camera shots aren’t that great, and let’s be honest: the acting? The casting director kind of blew her shot on such a huge franchise. I have been known to watch Twilight and mock it. The New Moon isn’t much better. Eclipse and Breaking Dawn: Part One were getting better, and after just seeing Breaking Dawn: Part Two, I will say that the movies get better at every step of the way. Unfortunately, this is the last installment of the Twilight saga, but the fifth movie is arguably the best.

By the fifth Twilight movie, the actors have finally gotten the hang of it. The director is great, the costumes are looking great, and the script (the most important part of any movie) is so well-written. It’s not taken word-for-word, which is appreciated for the originality, but the plot remained fairly close to the book. Since this movie is based off a book, I love that they kept it so close but changed it just enough that they weren’t completely copying the dialogue.

If you haven’t read any reviews yet, heard friends’ critiques, or seen it yourself, I will warn you about a huge plot twist. I won’t give it away, but I’ll just say that it had me on the edge of my seat. I was so completely shocked, but I admire that the directors took that change and deviated away from the book for that brief moment. Since I had read the books I thought I knew how it was all going to pan out, so I was so completely shocked. It was amazing though.

The action sequence was well-choreographed and I really enjoyed watching that entire section. I thought that Edward’s and Jacob’s characters had some funny lines with each other. It seems like the sense of humor has also been amplified with the screen writer as the years go on. This movie was a perfect mix of romance, comedy, and action and I loved every minute of it.

Since this was the end of the series, I thought the way they wrapped up the film was perfect. They even showed pictures and displayed the names of actors featured only in the first movie or up until the third. I liked the montage of Edward and Bella falling in love. I like the way they hint at the future but don’t completely show you the whole “twenty years from now” ordeal. I think it was a very tasteful ending to a five-year franchise.

So go ahead and judge me for being a Twilight follower, but don’t knock it ‘till you try it. And by that, I mean try reading the books, then watching the movies. If you still hate it, then feel free to judge.

Leave a Reply

