Something Borrowed

So one of my favorite movies is Something Borrowed. If you haven’t seen it, I recommend it, but not everyone likes it as much as I do. Mostly because it’s not a good message. A movie about falling in love with your best friend’s fiancée? I still love it, though. So when my friend told me she was reading the book it was based off naturally I had to read it.

I personally think I liked the movie better, but that’s probably just because of my massive celebrity crush on John Krasinski. (I mean come on, look how cute he is!)

But anyways, I still liked the book. I want to say it was extremely close to the movie, but it wasn’t at the same time. For starters, Ethan (John Krasinksi <3) lives in London over the entire book. The character he has in the movie is actually portrayed as Rachel’s coworker Hilary. Also, I’d say the made the character of Marcus more of a womanizer type in the movie and completely cut out the couple of dates that he and Rachel were set up on in the book.

Otherwise I’d say the two were extremely similar, which I can always appreciate. It really annoys me when movies are completely different from the books. Why change something so great and already well-written? That’s just asking for trouble from the fans.

As I already said, I do think the message is pretty bad. I mean, towards the end Rachel does start sticking up for herself and doing things she wants, but that also involved trying to steal her best friend’s fiancée. To me, it doesn’t matter who saw him first, it’s who he’s with. If he’s happy with the friend just wish them the best and get over it. I do understand it’s a tricky situation to be in though. Follow your heart or be a good friend?

I would suggest this book if you are interested in a girly drama romance type book. It wasn’t at the top of my list, but I enjoyed it. There is also a sequel called Something Blue that I want to read and it is what happens next but from Darcy’s point of view. I heard there will not be a movie off this book because of the changes they made with Ethan’s character in the first movie, so I’m curious to see how Darcy’s life all pans out.

Also, if you haven’t yet, watch the movie. Colin Egglesfield, Kate Hudson, and John Krasinski? All-star cast if you ask me. And if you love Jim’s quick wit in the office, there is a lot of that in this movie too.

Leave a Reply

