Les Misérables

Oh my gosh. This movie… I just have no words. It was so amazing. For a movie 2 hours and 50 minutes long, not once did I feel like it was a long movie or that it was dragging on and on. I was entranced the entire time. For some reason I did not expect so much singing, but thinking about how it’s a Broadway musical, I should have known better. Sometimes it was a little hard to understand what they were saying when they were singing, but I figured it all out in the end. Sometimes I was a little delayed, but I got it.

 

I have a strange fascination with that era and with the French Revolution and things like that. For example, I absolutely love Charles Dickens’ “Tale of Two Cities”. So going into this I was excited and, having heard such great remarks, had very high expectations. And those expectations were met perfectly.

One thing that threw me for a loop though was Anne Hathaway. I thought her character would be in the movie much longer than she was, but I was still happy to see her. I think Anne Hathaway is an amazing actress. And apparently she can sing, so that just makes me appreciate her that much more.

That was another amazing thing about the movie: all the songs that were sung were done live in front of the camera. There were no recordings or voice overs, they literally sang their lines at the camera and the music was added back in later. To me, that is amazing because it shows just how great the voices of these actors are. It also makes the movie that much better because they can interact better and add the emotions they are feeling at that time.

http://screenrant.com/les-miserables-music-songs-featurette/

The cast was absolutely amazing. In their acting, their singing, their chemistry. I just enjoyed every second of it. Well, I don’t know if enjoyed is the right word because I almost cried so many times (and finally just let it all out at the final scene), but it was amazing.

I also liked how for such a heavy subject matter, they had  the characters of Thénardier and Madame Thénardier, who were terrible people and thieves, but still added a light-hearted comedic aspect to lighten the mood occasionally. And with the small bursts of comedy and romance, the movie still held onto getting it’s points across about the outcomes of poverty and the struggles people were facing in their everyday lives and the townspeople trying to start a revolution.

I am honestly at a loss for words to even describe how amazing this movie was. I feel like my little review won’t even do it justice. If these actors are not awarded for their hard work on this film, my heart will break. They deserve to clean up at the Oscar’s in any and every category applicable.

If you have not seen this movie yet, see it. If you didn’t think it would interest you, try it anyways. If you can’t sit through a 2 hour and 50 minute movie with 90% singing, maybe I’m just overselling it based off my opinion, but I have not heard one bad thing about this movie. Give it a shot, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

