“Passion” by Lauren Kate

I’ve actually been a little busy this past week, so it took me a whole seven days to finish “Passion” by Lauren Kate. To you this may seem really quick, to me on a break from school this is an extremely long time, so I’m sorry.

So surprise, surprise, I really enjoyed this book. What’s new, right? First of all, they switched it up and made a chapter in Luce’s point of view and then in Daniel’s point of view. I absolutely love when authors do that. It helps us see what the other character is going through and what they know and how they feel towards the rest of the characters. In this book it helped us understand a little more about Daniel and his history and connection to Luce.

In this book, Luce is traveling back in time through the Announcers to try to figure out more about her relationship with Daniel and try to break the curse they’ve been under. Part of me was all for this idea because she’s just been going along with their romance the whole time, just believing that there must have been other lives and love with the two of them that contributed to her feeling so strongly for him so soon. Then there’s the other, more practical part of me that was a little mad at her for just getting upset and dashing into the Announcer when she had no idea where she was going or what she was doing. Lucky for her she found Bill, the little gargoyle who helped me.

A side note on Bill: I never liked him from the start. He seemed kind of creepy to me and the fact that he was always disappearing when Luce needed him was a little bit sketchy. He did try to keep her under control though, which is good because she is very stubborn. Which really irritated me about her character. She doesn’t listen to anybody! When someone tells you not to do something because it’s extremely dangerous, you probably will not do that again, right? Well, not if you’re Luce. You will do whatever you want because you think you know what you’re doing. Even though you don’t.

There’s a bit of a twist at the end. I personally wasn’t shocked by it at all, which may be me being really good at recognizing foreshadowing, but I don’t think it was that hard to not see coming. It doesn’t really leave off on a cliffhanger, but more of a “we have a limited amount of time to try to fix this, so let’s get to it” kind of thing. So it’s not like it’s killing me to start reading it right away, but I really want to see if/how they resolve the problem at the end.

It’s hard for me to decide if this one is my favorite or the first one. So far I’m hooked on this series. I have moved on to “Fallen in Love” which is referred to as book number 3.5. I guess it’s about other characters trying to find Luce in the Announcer and finding love. Due to my weakness in romances, I’ve already started this one. So far so good, but I’m not very far.

Anyways, if you guys haven’t tried this series yet, I’ll tell you again to give it a go. If you likes romance and angels and mystery you will probably like it. If you hate all those things then you will not and I don’t think we can be friends.

Leave a Reply

