“The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones” (BOOK)

I felt the need to add book to the title since the movie came out at midnight this morning. This series was on my to-read list since about May, but I felt the need to read all of Abbi Glines’ books first. Which caused me to forget about this series until I started seeing previews. So my new goal was to read these before I saw the movie. Mission accomplished.

I don’t know if the previews made the movie seem so awesome or what happened, but to me the book seemed to move kind of slow. But the thing is, I could not put it down. I think maybe I was waiting for something big to happen.

Either way, the writing was phenomenal. Although the descriptions of things were extremely longwinded, they were amazing. It was so elegantly worded. But the dialogue was so quick witted and sarcastic, I found myself laughing out loud at it.

Eventually the pace quickened on the plot a little bit. There were a lot of twists I was definitely not expecting. Which is always good because I like to be thrown off once in a while.

There were some parts that I thought were hard to follow. I don’t know if it’s because I started zoning out (because the descriptions, beautiful as they were, got me kind of bored) or if it was just written confusedly, but the action sequences I was like “yeah, it’d probably just be easier to see this as a movie than read it right now.” I toughed through it, but it was a challenge sometimes.

Then I didn’t completely understand the Marks and Runes for whatever reason. I’m still not 100% sure. They’re spells that they draw on their skin that kind of turn into tattoos and then they fade and end up leaving scars I think? I dunno. Maybe the movie will clarify that for me.

THAT ENDING THOUGH.

Oh my gosh. It did not end how I wanted it to end and it made me very upset. And I really can’t say much more about it because I don’t want to give any of it away. I’m fighting myself on writing plot things on here, but thinking about it, I don’t know that there really is much to write about plot..?

Basically Clary can see things other people can’t and ends up going back to “The Insitute” with Jace and the rest of the Shadowhunters (who are people who fight off demons and bad guys) because the bad guys took her mom.

And I wish I could say they teach her to be as awesome as them, but really she just is a “mundane” the whole time. Which is Shadowhunter for human.

Then there’s this whole scene where her friend becomes a rat and she has to save him. That took up a lot of book.

I heard the second one picks up a lot and it doesn’t drag. So I plan on finishing the series. Hopefully. We shall see if it’s worth my time because I have read some really positive and really negative reviews on the series.

Stay tuned for the movie review some time this weekend!

Leave a Reply

