“City of Ashes”

This book went so much quicker than the first, I don’t know why. Much faster paced. I enjoyed it so much more, to be honest. 

In my impatience and forgetfulness, I already picked up the third book before writing this review, so I’m going to do my very best to not combine them. But I make no promises.

I can’t remember if Valentine has the Mortal Cup already at the end of the first book, but by the second he has it and he goes to great lengths to get the Sword to create this huge army and basically take over the world. Or the Nephilim world.

Meanwhile, we meet Isabelle’s and Alec’s mom! She hears rumors and comes to assumptions and basically tells Jace she doesn’t trust him. So there’s some tension there.

But Clary and the gang find out about Valentine and go on a mass crusade to try to stop him. With some added dramas, naturally.

It’s all blurring together right now, and I wish I could tell you why I loved this one so much, but I guess you’ll just have to take my word for it.

Maybe it’s because I finally understood the whole thing a little better. The process of Marks and Runes I got this time!

The wording and descriptions were just as great as last time. There was some romance, some drama, some twists and turns and heroic moments that made you want to throw your fist in the air and cheer.

I, of course, did not since I was around other people as I read and did not want to be judged more than I already was for grinning down at my Kindle. But it did give me the warm fuzzies.

So guys, if you toughed your way through “City of Bones” and liked it, obviously you already picked this one up. If you haven’t even tried that one yet, you may want to. It was kind of good. Addicting, in a way. But these next two have more going on in them, I promise.

Also, the movie looks pretty good. And if you go to a movie based off a book without reading that book, shame on you.

So, READ IT.

I will bring you a movie review on “City of Bones” tomorrow, friends. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

