“The Mortal Instruments: City of Glass”

I decided to stay up until 1am this morning to finish this book. So it looks like I’m back to my old tricks. For now. 

This book slowly made me want to reach through it and punch Clary in the face because she was acting remotely similar to Bella Swan in the Twilight series. She just felt like she had more power than she does. Well, she has a lot of power but she has no training or idea how to use it and she still thinks she knows best.

And she’s so stubborn that when she can’t go to Idris with the rest of everyone, even after Magnus Bane, the high warlock of Brooklyn, tells her how dangerous it is to go through a portal, she goes ahead and makes her own and jumps through it. 

This caused some tension between her and Luke, because Luke naturally had to follow her. And then it made everyone (Jace, Isabelle, Alec) all a little peeved at her for doing her own thing and not understanding how big a deal it is that she does whatever she wants.

Then there’s the whole her and Jace drama. That finally gets solved! it made me happy. 

I mean, aside from Clary’s stubbornness and rash actions, I liked the book. it was dramatic and suspenseful with random romance. My kinda stuff. 

My only thing is it ended so perfectly, I don’t see how they have another two books with these characters. I’m kind of happy there’s more, but at the same time, was Cassandra Clare just milking it? Did she not want it to end and just scraped the bottom of the barrel for another two books? And then some prequels? 

I already bought “City of Fallen Angels” so I will read it through and get back to you guys, but if you started the series and are slowly thinking about stopping, I’d say this book is a good stopping point if you’re calling it quits.

Leave a Reply

