“Between the Lines”

Somehow, this is my first Jodi Picoult book. Which is shocking because she is a really popular author. Reviews keep saying that this book is nothing like the rest of her stuff because her teenage daughter helped write it, which is adorable and impressive, but it was not especially directed at her typical fan base. 

This book to me was okay. The idea was cute, the writing wasn’t bad, there were some parts that I thought were funny. Like how the characters in the book are really actors and their lives outside of the actual fairy tale were totally different. Adorable concept, and I really liked the idea behind it.

And of course, there’s romance and a happy ending. So why am I complaining if it had everything I usually go for? 

It just seemed like it was directed at a very young fan base. I’m all for high school stories. Even if the main characters are fifteen and sixteen, totally fine with it. It was the fact that they incorporated the actual telling of the fairy tale that made me feel like I was reading a children’s book.

And I totally get why. You need to see the fairy tale being told to understand the references made from the character in the book’s point of view. By telling the story occasionally, you don’t have to over explain when you need to reference something. This was the best way.

It just felt really young to me. Like, I felt awkward reading it sometimes. 

Also it was a total stretch of reality. I mean, I fall in love with characters in stories all the time (I’m looking at you Dean Holder) and yeah, maybe if I could make them jump out of the book, I probably would. Because I’m that strange of a person. But the ending… Yes, it was predictably happy, but it just bothered me for some reason.

And I know the reason but I don’t want to be a spoiler, so I can’t even rant about it. Which I’m sure everyone is fine with because this whole review is an obscene amount of rambling, and I apologize.

I just don’t know how to react to this book.

So I decided to be all Goldilocks on my rating and I gave it three stars on goodreads.

It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t exceptionally good. 

Not hot, not cold.

So be warned, avid readers of America. Not a typical Jodi Picoult book. And if you do not read fairy tales in your spare time, you may feel uncomfortable reading it.

You know what you will not feel uncomfortable reading, though?
My school website. https://sites.google.com/a/uwosh.edu/slacker-central/home

Click around on the titles and the side pages and watch the few videos I had to post or look at the GIF I had to make. 

You don’t even have to pretend you enjoy it. Just click on it. Literally for one second. 

 

Leave a Reply

