Pitch Perfect 2

So I absolutely LOVE Pitch Perfect. The characters were awesome, the soundtrack was amazing, the performances made you want to find your nearest a cappella group and join it immediately. So when I found out there was going to be a sequel I was SO pumped.

Pitch-Perfect-2--Super-Bowl

 

I can’t decide how I feel about it. Of course it wasn’t as good as the original; sequels almost never are. But I can’t decide if I liked it or not. I first started off listening to the soundtrack on spotify the day it came out and was unimpressed. The choice of songs wasn’t great, they sounded more like the cast of Glee than the Barden Bellas from the first soundtrack, and it included the sounds from the movie. Like when Fat Amy falls singing “Wrecking Ball” they literally have her screaming and falling in the recorded song. I really hate when movies do that. Just record out the song like it was normal so people can actually listen to it without getting taken out of the music, you know? A lot of the songs are like that.

meet-das-sound-machine-new-pitch-perfect-2-feature-hero Also, the big competition this time isn’t the Treblemakers, which also made me upset, but they compete hugely against this German group, Das Soundmachine. The way Anna Kendrick talked to the lead from DSM was really funny, but otherwise I was unimpressed with them as well. You know how when foreign singers sing you can’t hear their accents? Well, DSM has very thick accents in their songs. They say “Ve” instead of “we,” “vill” instead of “will,” “zem” instead of “them.” This would all be fine while talking because it’s the truth, but that kind of stuff wouldn’t normally come out while singing. At least not that thick. That was kind of annoying.

And  they were supposed to be this amazing group and they were okay. I had more fun watching the Treblemakers last season. And it might just have been the song choices, I’m not sure. Because that can make or break a musical movie.

Speaking of the Treblemakers, they were hardly in this one! I was really upset! They did ONE number in the beginning and the song was REALLY good like they always are. And then there was a version of a riff off and they were out in like the first or second round and my heart broke. There was hardly any Jesse in it. When he was in it my heart melted, but I wanted more of him!

119424, EXCLUSIVE: Hailee Steinfeld and Skylar Astin film scenes for 'Pitch Perfect 2' in Baton Rouge. Baton Rouge, Louisiana - Wednesday May 21, 2014. Photograph: © PacificCoastNews. Los Angeles Office: +1 310.822.0419 London Office: +44 208.090.4079 sales@pacificcoastnews.com FEE MUST BE AGREED PRIOR TO USAGE

There’s also a new Bella played by Hailee Seinfeld, her name is Emily and she’s kind of annoying. She has a beautiful voice, but her character was enough to get me annoyed in my seat. I don’t know why. Kind of like Aubry in the last one except Aubry was kind of funny. Emily is like awkward annoying and she had way too much screen time.

So did Fat Amy. And it was strange to me that literally all the Bellas were seniors except Emily when there were characters in it we had never seen before.

There were a lot of stereotypes in this movie, moreso than the last one, surprisingly. One of the characters is from Mexico I think and she makes a lot of deportation jokes, Fat Amy has a lot of fat jokes directed to her, Cynthia Rose is hardly in it but when she is there are lesbian jokes. The movie was basically one stereotyped joke to the next to fill the time between performances.

The performances were great, though. The soundtrack got my hopes down, but actually viewing them was awesome. It made the movie worth it. The jokes didn’t make me uncomfortable, a lot of them made me laugh, but looking back at it, it could have been written better.

Had I done it, I would give less Emily, or make her less annoying, I would get rid of so many of the stereotype jokes that bring women down (seeing as the first movie was basically about embracing your weirdness and girl power, which this one was kind of lacking), I would pick some better songs, and I would put in more Trebles.

All in all,  despite how much complaining I just did, the movie was pretty good, entertainment wise. Message wise, it could use some help. If you liked the first Pitch Perfect, and I don’t know why you wouldn’t, then I would go see it. But the best way to do that is to keep your expectations low, because if you get your hopes too high you could be disappointed.

clairestbearestreviews_filmreview_pitchperfect2_sleepover

Leave a Reply

