“Confess” by Colleen Hoover

I’m sorry. I tried to write this post right after I finished it, but I was still in a the book hangover that is finishing a Colleen Hoover masterpiece and couldn’t form words. So now I’m trying again since my mind has had time to process the story.

13396560

So Confess is about a girl named Auburn who is 20 and moved back to Texas, even though she hates it. Then she meets Owen, who is the sarcastic, good looking, tortured artist girls dream of falling in love with. He offers her a job, and she desperately needs the money, so she accepts without realizing fate put them together for a reason.

The story moves at such a fast pace because they’re both keeping these secrets from each other (and from the reader) so you just want to keep going until you know what it is. My best friend had read this book when it first came out in March and I kept asking her when I would find out the secrets. I was so impatient. Luckily, she’s such a good friend she knows to just calm me down and not spoil anything, but it was so frustrating! I just wanted to know!

Brave1

Frustrating in the way all mysteries are. You need to know, but you don’t want anyone to spoil it for you. You do eventually find out. You find out Auburn’s secret way sooner and it makes for an awesome story. You don’t really find out Owen’s business until towards the end, but really it was the perfect way to end it.

What I also loved about the book was that since Owen was an artist, Colleen had a real life artist paint the pictures Owen did so that we could actually see the paintings that Auburn was fawning over and that Owen was selling. It was fantastic. It makes the movie in your head even more realistic to actually see the pictures than to have to visualize them yourself. images

His name is Danny O’Connor and he is amazing.

I wish I could say more but I don’t want to give it away.

The characters, as always, were loveable. The dialogue is sarcastic and fast and fun. The plot line is amazing. I just loved it. I would put it towards the top of my CoHo favorites. Definitely recommended to EVERYONE. Go read it right now. If you haven’t already. I know, I’m a little behind on the new releases.

Leave a Reply

