Never Never by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fischer

Never Never was released in three separate novellas, which annoyed me, but I had read that it was something with Colleen’s contract and not being able to co-write and release books with other authors or something. So the novellas were a loophole as far as I understand.

That being said, though, the parts were so short I wish it had all just been released as one book, or all at once, or closer together. It was probably a year and a half for all three parts to be released and that kind of frustrated me. I had to reread it all at once because I forgot what happened. But anyways, here it is. Finally!

24378015

Plot

The plot of these is that this couple, Charlie and Silas, lose their memories. They just are suddenly at school and remember absolutely nothing and no one. So they go on a hunt to figure out who they are and what’s happening.

Part two Charlie is suddenly missing and still has no idea who she is, and this weird curse is going to kick in while she’s gone and everything she’s come to learn about herself will leave her memory. So Silas has to go and find her.

Part three they are reunited and back to piecing together what they had written down while they had memories, what in the hell is going on with them, and how to get them back. All the while, Silas is trying to make Charlie fall in love with him again. So there’s romance scattered through it as well as mystery, and the fact that they only have 48 hours to figure this out before the slate is wiped clean makes it sort of a suspense. It’s a lot of different things.

Reaction

I love Colleen Hoover, which you probably already know if you read everything I post. And Tarryn has some good ideas with suspenseful novels and such. I’m just not sure their writing styles worked together so well. I could tell the dialogues Colleen wrote and what Tarryn wrote, who came up with which idea and which plot line.

Like I said above, I hated that the books were released separate and so far apart. The first part was also probably my favorite. The whole fun of it was when they were together, bickering, flirting, all that. So when they got split up in part two it felt like something was missing. It wasn’t as fun of a read and they didn’t get Charlie back until the end, so that was kind of a bummer. Plus the parts about Charlie didn’t help at all with piecing it all together since she had no idea who she was or where she was so she couldn’t even give us details to piece it together ourselves. We had to rely on Silas for all of that.

Part three felt both dragged out and rushed to me. Like the plot of the whole last part is them finding out what happened. It’s definitely the falling actions of the story. The whole thing wraps up nicely, but I wasn’t a huge fan of the epilogue. It seemed unimportant and irrelevant and I hate epilogues that are really far into the future. I want to assume everyone ends happily ever after. I don’t want to be told it, because it’s unrealistic that these seventeen-year-old characters get married and stay together forever, but I want to pretend that they will. If that makes sense at all.

So yeah, I don’t like epilogues too far into the future.

Will you read it? 

It’s a very quick read. I liked the romance in it, I liked that it was based in New Orleans because I love that place, I liked that we didn’t really know what was going on until the end. It was a good story. I was entertained by it, but, I’m so sorry Colleen, it was just okay. I would give it 3.5 stars.

Leave a Reply

