Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

OH MY GOD. Making everyone I know read this book. Even though they already should have. EVERYONE READ IT NOW.

I was a little nervous to start this because it’s going to be a series and the next book won’t be out until 2017 and I was afraid it would have a cliff hanger I couldn’t live with. While it didn’t have a cliffhanger that is extremely intense like someone dying or getting kidnapped or something, I am still not sure how I’m supposed to wait until 2017 for the next book.

download.jpeg

Plot

This book picks up shortly after where  Court of Thorns and Roses leaves off. Feyre has just defeated Amarantha and is living in the Spring Court engaged to Tamlin, the love of her life. But she’s struggling to deal with the things she had to do to save Tamlin and the Spring Court and is basically in a depression. Then Rhysand (my new fictional book boyfriend) appears and cashes in his bargain that she live with him at the Night Court one week out of every month. And oh my God. It is fantastic.

Reaction

I finished this book three days ago, had to wait until I was calmed down enough to write a review, and I’m still not even that calm about it. I’m already considering rereading Court of Thorns and Roses and then going onto this one right away again because it gives you some of Rhysand’s perspectives while Under the Mountain. He’s still arrogant, sarcastic, and cunning but you also see him now as the selfless, loving, powerful man he is as well. It paints an entirely new picture of him and it’s so hard not to fall in love with him. It shows that sometimes you have to be someone else, someone you may not like, to protect the things you care about the most. It’s a heartbreaking thing to watch unfold.

tumblr_nsxyvr77IB1qlgbzbo1_500_zpsk05et1nk

Feyre’s growth as a character is phenomenal. It’s incredibly inspirational seeing her in the beginning as this broken person and trying, unsuccessfully, to turn it around. She has to take this depression and this regret and stop it from tearing away at her and learn how to cope with it. She becomes strong and empowered and isn’t going to let anyone tell her what to do or who to be and it’s amazing to watch. I was rooting for a love story, you would be completely heartless not to, but I was rooting for Feyre way more; rooting for her get past her demons and grow and become the strong, independent badass that you know she is completely capable of being!

And the fact that Rhysand doesn’t let her be this weak, broken girl who needs a protector just makes you love him more. He teaches Feyre to read and fight and deal with her depression and heal; he doesn’t want her to need someone, he wants her to be strong all on her own. It’s… ugh. My heart. It’s so good.

You’re also introduced to Rhysand’s Night Court companions and they are squad goals, as much as I hate that phrase. Beautiful Mor is strong and witty and fun and loveable. Cassian is powerful but goofy and loves picking on Rhys and it’s hilarious. Azriel is damaged and quiet and intimidating. Amren is a badass who doesn’t take shit from anyone. Rhys is the fearless leader who will do anything for this band of misfits who all just love each other so much it makes you wish you could become a part of it. It truly does.

You see a completely new side of Tamlin and let’s just say you will not root for him anymore. After reading the first one, I never thought I would say this, but he is the actual worst.

Screen Shot 2016-06-06 at 1.53.50 PM.png

The jokes and sarcasm and dialogue between every character in the Night Court is so fun. It feels like real friends the way they talk to each other as opposed to the Spring Court and the way Tamlin and Lucien are so serious with each toher. The banter between Feyre and Rhysand is so great. I love that they’re witty and make jokes at each other whereas Tamlin in both books was just so broody and serious. It makes me wonder how she even fell in love with Tamlin when he seems so opposite her personality.

I loved it. Way more than the first. I just can’t even begin to describe how much brilliance was in this book the way she hinted at what would happen in the first. It just went right over your head until you read this one and you’re like wait, how did I not see this coming?!

Should you read it? 

100% yes. I don’t care if you aren’t big into fantasy books or romance or happiness. It has everything you could ever want in a book. Love, bonds, magic, battles, sarcastic witty dialogue, empowering messages.

It’s perfect. Sarah J. Maas killed it. Truly one of the best books I’ve read in a very long time and everyone should read it right now and then come to me and we can fangirl over it.

Please? Because I need to talk to people about it. I literally can’t think of anything else besides how great this was. I’m stuck in a world that doesn’t exist.

Me right now:

1f545770-e83c-0131-6d0f-0aa0f90d87b4

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas | breathe.relax.smile.

  2. Pingback: Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas | breathe.relax.smile.

  3. Pingback: The Remnant Chronicles Trilogy by Mary E. Pearson | breathe.relax.smile.

Leave a Reply

