Sweet Nothing by Jamie McGuire and Teresa Mummert

I had never read anything by Teresa Mummert before, but I LOVE Jamie McGuire. Her Maddox brothers series is fantastic. The girl knows how to write manly men falling in love, so I figured this would be a great book. I bought it the day it was released and was so excited to start it.

Sweet-Nothing-Cover-1

Plot

Avery is a nurse with a harmless crush on the doctor in the E.R. Josh is a paramedic flirt who all the ladies love. Josh wants to date Avery, but she hears about how he is with women and wants nothing to do with it. Eventually she caves and the dramatic love story ensues.

Reaction

To be honest, to me the beginning of this book was so slow I actually considered putting it down. First Avery wanted nothing to do with Josh. Then she finally decided, okay, maybe. And then they moved a mile a minute. Way too insta-love and way too fast for my liking. There’s a difference between having an early connection and having insta-love. But then they finally got together and they just. Kept. Fighting. They were driving me absolutely insane.

It had a pretty decent rating on Goodreads and almost five stars on Amazon, so I stuck to it. I saw in the comments that it didn’t start getting good until around 60% and that is definitely where it started getting interesting. Like I didn’t stop reading it until it was done. And when it was over I just sat there staring at my Kindle like what in the actual…

c50a046a_Pissed-off

Some people were raving about the twist and the ending in reviews, but I hated it. I was so mad. I don’t want to give away what happens so all I’ll say is that in creative writing classes since MIDDLE SCHOOL I was told this kind of ending is a cop out. So once you finish it, let me know if you agree or not. Enough time has passed that I will be calm to discuss it.

Will you read it? 

I mean, I wasn’t recommending it to people. I actually sent rants to my best friend and my boyfriend about how mad I was at the ending. I do appreciate how well it was written though, and the idea of a nurse and bad boy paramedic I also liked, so I gave it 3/5 stars.

So if you read it and liked it, comment below and tell me why. Maybe you can make me see the damn good in this book. If you read it and hated it like I did, also let me know and we can rant together.

Until next time, friends!

Leave a Reply

