It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

I just keep staring at my cursor because I don’t even know what to say about this book. There are so many things I want to say but I’m just at a loss for words. I’m going to do my best, though. Without spoilers. I don’t want to give away any spoilers. So this might be the worst review ever.

27362503

Plot

This story follows Lily Bloom, an aspiring floral shop owner with an ironic name and a tough past. We learn about her past, her relationship with her father, and her first love through her reading old journal entries. Lily has such a big heart. She loves her mother and is confused by the way she lets her father treat her. She helps a homeless kid from her school just because it was the right thing to do. And she had hopes for herself and her life. It was touching to read, and it was a little less heavy because she addresses her diary entries to Ellen DeGeneres so that it would feel less like a diary.

In the present day, Lily has successfully opened her own flower shop in Boston, made a friend named Allysa, and met attractive neurosurgeon, Ryle Kincaid. And everything starts off so cute and romantic and you’re just waiting for the other shoe to drop. Like you can just tell something bad is going to happen. And then it does.

But I’m a jerk, so I won’t tell you what it is. You’ll have to read it for yourself.

joey-shrug.gif

Reaction

I don’t know how to even react to this without spoilers. I don’t know how to react to it at all. I’m still in shock. I had a long list of things I needed to do today and I did absolutely none of it until I finished the book. Which I did, at 4 in the afternoon, still in my pajamas and glasses with unwashed hair.

It was such a moving story. And to be honest, I predicted what would happen before it did, but I was hoping the entire time I would be wrong.

I loved Ryle, I loved him and Lily together, I loved their whole dynamic. And then I hated Ryle. And then I felt bad for Ryle. And then I got mad that I felt bad for Ryle. And I was stressed out for Lily just reading it.

But what got me the most was that while this is a piece of fiction, there are so many people out there that this is a reality for. And that breaks my heart. I think that’s why it has such a huge impact, not just on the people who relate to it, but to the people who haven’t. Because it’s so easy to tell someone what to do from the outside.

That’s the amazing thing about books; you can get transported into this other world and this other person’s thoughts and feel what they feel. And feeling what Lily felt was so overwhelming that it just made me start questioning what I would have done if I were in her situation. And I still can tell you that I truthfully have no idea.

Should you read it?

100% yes. Absolutely. And it’s not just because I’m a proud CoHort (which I totally am). It’s because I really think it’s something everyone needs to read, understand, and realize that this is a reality.

I was worried there would be a sad ending. That I would just be completely shattered or stressed out about it, and I mean it was sad, and I was a little stressed out, but the epilogue made my heart hurt a little less.

5/5 stars on goodreads. Well earned.

So READ IT. READ IT NOW.

DO IT.

I’m not even sorry about the shouty capitals. I will shout it at people on the street, too.

One thought on “It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

