Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

I’m doing my best to make reviews spoiler free, and they sound really vague to me, so hopefully those of you who’ve read the book know what I’m talking about and those who don’t can still follow along without me ruining everything for you.

17167166

Plot:

Celaena Sardothean has won the competition and is now officially the King’s Champion. She’s not being truly loyal to the thing, though and I love that she’s defiant because the King of Adaralan is the worst.

She finds some secrets within the castle and tries to unravel all these mysteries on her own, which, of course, causes some trouble.

Celaena comes across some rebels against the king who are waiting for the lost princess, Aelin Galathynius, to come around and save them while causing some minor chaos for Celaena.

Reaction:

I wish I could give a better plot overview than that, but a) I read it a couple weeks ago and forgot to post about it before I moved on and b) I feel like not a lot of huge things happened.

I felt like this book was a bit slower than Throne of Glass somehow. I mean, I was entertained and kept going because I really wanted to see what happened, but there was a lot less action until towards the end.

giphy.gif

There was some romance, my ship sailed and then sank all in one book and I was not pleased about it. There was some mystery, a “tragic” death, which I didn’t think was incredibly tragic if we’re being honest here. I liked the character, but I didn’t feel as distraught as I probably should have.

The only thing that made me go “I NEED TO READ THE NEXT ONE NOW” was the cliffhanger ending. I definitely did not see that coming.

cel and nehm.jpg

Should you read it? 

If you liked Throne of Glass, yes. If you haven’t read Throne of Glass yes, probably do that first because a lot of this will be kind of confusing for you. Actually, read Assassin’s Blade absolutely first.

If you haven’t read Throne of Glass yet, you can check my review here and see if it sounds like something you might be interested in. Or else you can check reviews on Amazon or Goodreads because it has a lot higher reviews than I gave it and I feel like I’m missing some of the hype.

I did give this one 4/5 stars, though, because when the plot picked up it was really hard to put down, but I just felt like it took a while to get to that point.

One thought on “Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas | breathe.relax.smile.

Leave a comment