Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas

I’ve seen reviews that people didn’t like this book that much because it felt slower and forced, but I actually liked it the most so far. I’m starting to understand the love for the series.

1c6482f9a5e78caaf7292317c3bf313c.jpg

Plot:

Celaena Sardothean is being sent away on a “mission” from the king to kill the King and Queen of Wendlyn, but she has another agenda. She has to meet up with the aunt her mother tried to hide her from to get information that could stop the King and the Valg army he’s preparing.

While there, she must confront the truth about who she is and what she can do. Along the way she makes some new friends, including Rowan Whitethorn.

Reaction:

So yes, there was not a ton of action in this book, but I somehow still was intrigued the entire time. We finally learn the truth about who Celaena is and that she has magic. A lot of this book is her rejecting who she is and all that and refusing to do anything useful, which is kind of frustrating, but we get flashbacks and explanations and you can really see why.

It’s definitely more of a growth of character book than the last two. She’s turning into who she was destined to be and she’s growing up a lot and learning the pitfalls and trials of what she’s going to have to encounter. I think it was really well written by Sarah J. Maas and really important for us to see her go through this journey, even if there was little action.

At least there was still magic! And more of it!

And now we see that *probably a spoiler, but it’s minor so I’m sorry, but it’ll be okay* Dorian also has magic. WHAAT. Love it.

hill.gif

Here’s what I hate, though: the introduction of random characters. Like, why is Manon important? Why is Sorscha important? Well, Sorscha’s story I didn’t mind as much because it intertwined with Dorian’s, but why did I need to jump into Manon Blackbeak and her mean grandma and her horrible rival.

I just wanted to know what was going on with Celaena, Dorian, and Chaol and that’s it. I had to fight myself from skimming those parts, but something told me they were going to be important or else Maas wouldn’t have included them, so I powered through.

I also liked Rowan and Celaena’s relationship development. I love that they started off hating each other, to tolerating each other, to trusting each other and becoming sort of friends. I wanted to be upset that Maas introduced another potential love interest, because that makes a new one for each book, but how realistic is it for someone to end up with their first love ? Or second even?

People get in and out of so many relationships before finding the right one, so I actually kind of welcomed the fact that she’s not sticking to the very first guy she got feelings for at, what was it, seventeen?

heiroffire-iPad.jpg

Should you read it? 

I think you should. I’m starting to get invested in this series now. I liked this book much better than the first two somehow. If you haven’t read either of those, you should definitely do that first. You will be incredibly confused without them.

I gave it 4/5 stars on goodreads, because those parts with Manon were really boring to me.

 

 

 

Leave a comment